Partner Nina Marino will be presenting “Bridge or Bulwark? Using ‘Bridgegate’ to Keep Property Fraud in Its Lane”

Partner Nina Marino will be presenting "Bridge or Bulwark? Using 'Bridgegate' to Keep Property Fraud in Its Lane" alongside Lisa Mathewson and Dani James at the upcoming Women's White Collar Defense Association live virtual session.

 

 Join Us at the Next WWCDA WatercoolerPLUS

Bridge or Bulwark?
Using "Bridgegate" to Keep Property Fraud In Its Lane

When:  LIVE: March 10, 2021, 1:00 – 2:00 pm EST
RE-BROADCAST: March 11, 2021, 10:00 – 11:00 am CET / 5:00 – 6:00 pm HKT

Addressing quirky facts in a breezy style, the Supreme Court's "Bridgegate" opinion (Kelly v. U.S.) may look like a curious eddy in the river of fraud jurisprudence.  Diving into it, however, reveals a deep sub-structure carefully constructed on foundational property fraud principles.

On March 10 at 1:00 p.m. EST, the WWCDA Thought Leadership Subcommittee will host a WaterCoolerPLUS to explore that foundation and discuss what the government can-and cannot-build on it.  Hear directly from WWCDA members Lisa MathewsonNina Marino, and Dani James, who are using Kelly to resist expansive prosecution theories in cases ranging from "Varsity Blues" to securities fraud, DBE fraud, misapplication of funds, and more.  This will be a true brainstorming session, and we hope you will join us to explore additional ways to use Kelly to block prosecutorial detours from the boundaries the Supreme Court keeps reaffirming.

To accommodate WWCDA members around the globe, this session will be recorded and re-broadcast on March 11th at 10:00 a.m. Central European Time / 5:00 p.m. Hong Kong Time (4:00 a.m. Eastern Standard Time).

Both the live session and the re-broadcast are open to members only.

PLEASE LOG ON TO CONNECT TO RSVP AND OBTAIN ZOOM DETAILS HERE FOR THE MARCH 10 LIVE SESSION, AND HERE FOR THE MARCH 11 RE-BROADCAST.

We'll see you at the WatercoolerPLUS.

Best,

Karen A. Popp, Global Chair and Co-Founder
Michelle J. Shapiro, Development Committee Chair
Justine Harris, Development Committee Member, Thought Leadership Subcommittee Co-Chair
Peggy Daley, Development Committee Member, Thought Leadership Subcommittee Co-Chair

 

 
Share Button

Comments are closed.